About Us

Our Mission

To unite people of Western Nebraska to build a stronger, healthier and more compassionate community.

Our History

In 1945 a small group of volunteer businessmen formed the Scottsbluff Community Chest, now known as the United Way of Western Nebraska, an independent fundraising association, its purpose was to raises funds for ten prominent community charities.  The first campaign raise $26,359, which was distributed among those ten agencies.  Throughout the years, other agencies have joined our association.  Agency names changed, agencies merged and some simply no longer exist.  Today there are 17 member agencies through the main office, including one of the original agencies, Boy Scouts, and 13 member agencies in Box Butte and Dawes Counties.

As population has grown, so has the needs of our community.  United Way of Scotts Bluff County was formed to help meet many of those growing needs.  In 2004, the organization expanded to cover more of the Nebraska panhandle becoming United Way of Western Nebraska.  Due to the specific needs in the Alliance area, United Way of Western Nebraska serving Box Butte County was opened soon after.  In 2016, the service area of Box Butte County was expanded to include Dawes County. 

In 2015, $468,957 was raised in the annual campaign.  The United Way of Western Nebraska with a service area of Cheyenne, Morrill and Scotts Bluff Counties raised $383,866 of that total with Box Butte and Dawes Counties raising $85,091.  Since our humble beginning the United Way of Western Nebraska has raised more than $10,500,000 to help those in need and in building a stronger, healthier and more passionate community...the United Way!

Our Service Area

United Way of Western Nebraska has two offices to better assist the communities we serve.  The main office is at 1517 Broadway, Suite 106 in Scottsbluff with a satellite office at 723 Flack Ave in Alliance.  The main office focuses on the needs of the communities in Scotts Bluff, Cheyenne and Morrill Counties.  The Alliance office serves the area of Box Butte and Dawes Counties.